Emily Colvin

The Robert Maher Memorial Scholarship Award

Citzens for Nuclear Technology Awareness (CNTA) is pleased to announce that Emily Colvin is the recipient of the third annual Robert Maher Memorial Scholarship. As the winner of the 2006 Maher Scholarship, Emily was presented a $5,000 award by Dr. Todd Wright, Director of the Savannah River National Laboratory, at the CNTA's 15th Annual Edward Teller Lecture and Banquet on November 2, 2006.

Ms. Colvin is a Georgia Institute of Technology student majoring in Nuclear & Radiological Engineering with a minor in Aerospace Engineering, expecting a Bachelor of Science in May 2007 and Master of Science in May 2008. Her personal interests include space nuclear propulsion, in which field she intends to pursue her Ph.D. She served as a Summer Fellow at the Center for Space Nuclear Research, studying the use of nuclear propulsion to propel spacecraft from low earth orbit to low lunar orbit.

Her Master's thesis work involves the development and construction of a radiation detector prototype for a Martian environment. She gained familiarity with that environment as a team member and officer for missions at the Mars Desert Research Station, sponsored by the Mars Society. In November 2006, Ms. Colvin was honored by selection to the team for the four-month Mars mission simulation that will be conducted at the Flashline Mars Arctic Research Station on Canada's Devon Island, 900 miles from the North Pole.

She is also involved in the American Nuclear Society student chapter at Georgia Tech, the Georgia Tech Symphony Orchestra (Bb and A clarinets), and the North Avenue Presbyterian Church orchestra.

CNTA wishes Emily much luck in her future endeavors; she is well on her way to a brilliant career.

The purpose of the Maher Scholarship is to provide an annual scholarship to a student who has demonstrated outstanding college level academic achievement in nuclear science/engineering.

To be eligible for the Robert Maher Memorial Scholarship, candidates must meet the following criteria:

Previous winners of the award include:

Return to 2006 Teller Lecture Page

Return to Teller Lecture Page

Questions, Comments, Concerns about our Website?